Student rents during the Covid-19 crisis

Options

Comments

• sharpe106
    sharpe106 Posts: 3,559 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I would not pay the bills and let them sue - which will be many months away.   It's more important right now to have money available to you in the bank.  But, obviously, I am not a lawyer!
    Which could cause a lot of problems down the line. If they do.
  • squirrellodge
    Options
    There is obviously so many university students and their parents in the same position, being asked to pay for university rent when the whole summer term is being written off, students still have processions in the accommodation because they left not realising now long it would before they went back. Can this not be something that is put to government for a directive on, as the private landlords can have mortgage breaks and already charge extortionate rents for small rooms, they must be months of mortgage payments in pocket. I am getting weekly reminders to pay this terms rent but keep holding off hoping that something will be put in place to say that if you are not at the accommodation this term, you don't have to pay. 
  • sharpe106
    sharpe106 Posts: 3,559 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    ping that something will be put in place to say that if you are not at the accommodation this term, you don't have to pay. 

So who pays? A mortgage break is a break it still needs paying back.   

• diggingdude
    diggingdude Posts: 2,451 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    students you (on the whole not mummy and daddy) are contracted to pay rent. Dont risk a CCJ by not paying your rent if the landlord won't negotiate.  
    An answer isn't spam just because you don't like it......
  • gary83
    gary83 Posts: 905 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options