Complicated travel advice needed pls

Options
First off I'd like to apologise: this'll seem a trivial problem at this extraordinary time, but its weighing heavy on my mind.

I'm a nurse, so I'm in work and very much fortunate  in this regard. We're coming up to our 35th wedding anniversary soon and had planned a special holiday this year -New York & Pacific Coast Highway. 

We originally booked all the bits separately with flights from Thomas Cook, and that's where the fun started. They went bust and we got an instant refund from Lloyd's. Phew, panic over.

So I rebooked with Norwegian...
Then coronavirus happened...
Then the travel ban.. 

We are due to fly out May 28th, a lot can happen in that time, but I suspect not enough to 
1) prevent Norwegian going bust
2) restore free movement of people 
3) something to go right for us!

So - long story short:  it seems out insurance (chosen  on price because of my wife's health issues) wont pay out due to pandemic.

Norwegian will only rebook before mid November.  Opodo who we booked the flights with wont talk to us as it's not an immenent departure, Tickemaster (we booked a broadway show around $500) say it cant be cancelled....

I'm about £4k down at present and close to tears. I know that's rather self-indulgent given the real tragic stories out there. I still consider us lucky as we have employment and health.  But  it was to be some thing very special and its turning into a disaster.

Any advice would be much appreciated. 
Take great care everyone.

Comments

• Meekoblue
    Meekoblue Posts: 11 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Sorry, reading other message it appears I've posted in wrong board/thread, my apologies. 
  • Alan_Bowen
    Alan_Bowen Posts: 4,852 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options