Credit cards for Attorneys with LPAs

in Credit cards
19 replies 434 views
sallypoosallypoo Forumite
11 Posts
Fifth Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
Hi,
I'm wondering if anyone has any experience of this.  I am an Attorney for a relative whom is housebound and lives alone some distance from me.  We have recently got the Finance LPA in place and are now keen to get ourselves set up so that we can order food etc so that she is able remain in her own home.  We wish to do this in a transparent manner.  ie so it is clear whom is purchasing what (not just logging in with her details).
I have hit a roadblock.  Her existing bank will not allow me to apply for a credit card against her account.  They will only allow my near 90 year old housebound relative to do so, which as you can imagine isn't possible.  I doubt she would make it through the security questions without me being with her...
I then tried appling for a credit card with my credit card provider and again they said my relative would need to do this.  To add to the complications she has NO photo ID, and we have no way of getting her somewhere where she could have her photo take to apply for a passport or driving licence.  So she wouldn't get through the security process here either.
I am beginning to feel like we have spent near £2k of her money on LPAs which have proved to be useless!
How are others buying food, incontinence pads etc online for those they have LPAs for?  Halifax bank has advised me to use a debit card for all her online purchases. They were happy to provide me with a debit card directly linked to my relative's account, which of course provides less online security.  Although initially they told me I couldn't have my own log-in details for the online banking (they advised I log in as my relative!)
I just can't believe that is what everyone else is doing? ie buying online with debit cards....
Thanks

Replies

• sallypoo said: