Introduction to stock investment

Options
For the first time I'm considering investing my savings into stocks and shares rather than savings accounts. I was wondering if anyone has any advice as to a good 'Stocks and shares 101' introductory guide to the process - for a complete beginner - and what the options are. I couldn't find this on MSE - I'm guessing this isn't an area the website goes into. Thanks for any help.

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 31,062 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    edited 23 February 2020 at 6:42PM
    Options
    I usually recommend starting such research at sites suited to inexperienced investors, such as:
    https://www.ifa.com/indexfundsthemovie/

as well as bearing in mind a number of key points of principle:
    1. Only consider investing once you have adequate accessible cash reserves.
    2. Only invest if you're happy to commit for at least 5-7 years and preferably 10-15 or more.
    3. Diversify - ignore individual shares, etc, and concentrate on collective investments that spread your eggs over many baskets. Global multi-asset funds are a good place to start, available from the likes of HSBC Global Strategy, Vanguard LifeStrategy, Blackrock Consensus and L&G Multi-Index.
    4. Choose what you want to invest in before considering which platform to hold it/them on.
    5. Keep an eye on ongoing costs for funds and platforms - they shouldn't be the primary consideration but can make a noticeable difference over the long term.
    6. Use a Stocks & Shares ISA as a tax-efficient wrapper to avoid liability for income and capital gains tax.
  • Mr.Saver
    Mr.Saver Posts: 521 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    I'd recommend the free course "Managing my investments" from the Open University: https://www.open.edu/openlearn/money-business/managing-my-investments/content-section-overview?active-tab=description-tab

• Albermarle