have i snoozed and missed the stooze?

Hi all

Ok I am new to the stoozing game and wondered if i have missed the boat?
I pay off all my credit cards in full - I only buy what I can afford (so no angel!)

However the time has come for me to pay off my mortgage and I have a few questions that I hope u stoozing wizards can help with! -

I need £13k to pay the mortgage - what is the likelyhood I will get this credit limit on a card? My abbey card limit is £16k and Marks and Sparks £6k.
Would I need to take out to cards?
Do i need to tell them when applying for the card that i am wanting a bal transfer of £13k? Does this make a difference?

I have read the links about bal transfers and think that Virgin would be best as it offers 15mths 0% and only 2.98 fee.

I am not sure I understand the SBT's and how u know which cards are etc. Also do they really just pay the money into your bank account?????

I can pay the mortgage off but it would mean cashing in all my isas - so I know that i can save the money over 15mths and then pay off the balance.

The last question is - when do i know which is the final date to pay?

Thanks in advance for all your help :A

Jo

Comments

• Belly, In my own perosnal opinion you are a very good position here.... :)

1. Apply for an Egg Money card, this is the most common SBT (super Balance Transfer) card out there, since it allows you to have a positive balance. DOnt worry about the credit limit they give you, since you wont be in the red on it.

2. Ring up Abbey (with whom you have a £16K limit) and tell them you would like ot CANCEL the card, since you are going to use another card instead for a balance transfer... I bet you my cats that they will offer you a 0% deal ON THE SPOT. If its any good (9mths +) take it and do a £13,000 BT to the Egg Money card..... You how have a £13,000 POSITIVE balance on the Egg Money card.