Male collegue earns 10k more than me

Options
So my male counterpart appears to earn 10k more per year than me. We share the same job title but he is 1 grade above me, however I am more qualified in our particular field.

You could argue he is older by about 4 years, and has differing skills to me. However, we both bring useful and relevant experience to the table. I have been doing this particular job since August 2018 and he started a few months prior.

I consider myself pretty focussed and keen to skill up and get on whereas he doesn't seem that bothered and has only recently put himself forward for training because I am now qualified and probably feels he should.

So without going in to too much detail, how should I play this, do I have a case to go to HR with or is it a case of grade higher, bigger pay, end of?

I would really appreciate some advice please.

Comments

• Socajam
    Socajam Posts: 1,238 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    We share the same job title but he is 1 grade above me

To me this says it all.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    lala9 wrote: »

Make yourself as valuable to the business as possible, through hard work, improving your skills and ultimately delivering the things they value.
  • steampowered
    Options
    It's worth speaking to your manager if you think you are being underpaid.

It is also worth seeing if you can find out what you might get paid for a similar job with another employer.

Ultimately, if an employer can get away with paying you less than the market rate, they will do so.
  • Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,066 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Does your employer do regular reviews, or have a structured salary scale? If so, worth asking what you would have to do to move up the scale.