New Post Advanced Search
Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.

Smart TV

edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Techie Stuff
21 replies 1.1K views
Annie1960Annie1960 Forumite
2.8K posts
Sixth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Techie Stuff
I'm trying to decide which smart TV to get. I've always has Sony in the past, and have found this one:

https://www.johnlewis.com/sony-bravia-kd55xg8196-2019-led-hdr-4k-ultra-hd-smart-android-tv-55-inch-with-freeview-hd-youview-black/p4075237

I've also been reading about Samsung, and this one came up:

https://www.johnlewis.com/samsung-ue50ru7100-2019-hdr-4k-ultra-hd-smart-tv-50-inch-with-tvplus-apple-tv-app-charcoal-black/p4059501

Any suggestions which one to go for? I'm not experienced at Smart TVs, so am particularly interested in whether the Sony or Samsung system may be best. Are they both stable systems?

I'll be using it with Freeview if that makes a difference.

Replies

• BrowntoaBrowntoa Forumite, Board Guide
    48.2K posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'd prefer the first one as Android and Access to Google play.

Samsung recently withdrew support for Netflix on some older models which would worry me
    Links in my signature currently broken
    I'm the Board Guide of the Referrers ,Telephones, Pensions , Shop Don't drop ,over 50's , Boost your income and Discount Code boards which means I volunteer to help get your forum questions answered and keep the forum runnning smoothly .However, please remember, board guides don't read every post. If you spot an inappropriate or illegal post please report it to [email protected] Any views are mine and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.
  • debitcardmayhemdebitcardmayhem Forumite
    10.4K posts