Advice on Vanguard funds

Options
metrobus
metrobus Posts: 1,784 Forumite
First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
edited 30 December 2019 at 3:25PM in Savings & investments
Apart from buying 8 FTSE100 blue chips about 6 years ago for dividend return I have little experience in investing.

I plan to put £40k into a vanguard stocks & shares ISA to buy a few passive funds,£20k prior to April and £20k when the new tax year begins.

Very sure the money will not be needed for at least 10 years and my risk factor is medium.

I would be very happy to average a 4% return but obviously know some years I will take a lose.

I would be grateful of your opinions of combining these 3 funds Lifestrategy 60%,FTSE global all cap index fund and Pacific ex-Japan stock index fund.Would that give a good diversification?

If I am missing something glaringly obvious please point it out.

Thank you.

Comments

• arwain
    arwain Posts: 69 Forumite
    Options
    One of the experts will answer you soon I am sure but if it was me I think I would just put the £40k into something like LS 60 or similar and leave it there and not have to worry about rebalancing etc and just keep an eye on it once a year or so.

I would also consider going down the Iweb route. £25 one off payment to open a S&S account and then just £5 every time you make a purchase. So you can get your £40k invested in LS 60 for a tenner and then no more on going charges.

If your 8 FTSE blue chip holdings are of a decent size I would also consider selling them too and putting the money into something like the LS funds or similar multi asset funds. The consensus seems to be one needs at least 20 individual companies to be invested in to have a reasonable chance of diversification. Having just 8 large FTSE companies is probably fairly risky unless we are not talking about much money.
  • Linton
    Linton Posts: 17,172 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Hung up my suit!
    Options