Self assessment help!

Options
Hi,

I am looking ahead to doing my self assessment tax return for 19/20. I used to be a contractor through a limited company. I am now permanent , so this tax year I will have a combination of salary from a permanent job, salary from my limited company, and dividends from my limited company.

My accountant normally does my tax returns and obviously he won't be doing it next year , meaning I have never done one before. Typically this will be the most complicated one !

I am trying to get an idea how much I will owe in around a years time. I paid the previous tax years today , including 1170 on account.

I have tried to estimate my salary for the year ahead, and how much income tax I will pay(there is a 6 percent pension deduction).

Income from employment 28581
Salary from ltd company 3520
Total salary 32101
Dividends from ltd company 28,265.79
Total 60,366.79

Based on a salary calculator
Tax due from salary of 32101 = 3543.99
NI due from salary of 32101 = 2816.28

Estimated deductions based on actual dedudtions so far :
Tax = 3915.31
NI = 2825.76

Tax due from dividends @ 7.5 = (50,000 - 32101(total salary))
17899 @ 7.5 % = 1342
28265(total div)-2000(tax free) -17899 @ 32.5 % = 2718.95

Total dividend tax = 4060.95
Total estimated paye tax = 3543.99
Total due = 7604.94
- tax estimated deducted at source (3915.31)
= 3689.63
Minus ( 2 x payments on account ) ( 2340)

= 1349.63

I think I will also have to add all of child benefit to pay back?

Doe that sound about in the right ball park? It's bending my head ! Thanks for any help !

Comments

• Dazed_and_confused
    Options
    Firstly, if you are trying to work out what you will owe under Self Assessment you should ignore (Class 1) National Insurance.

At the moment you are making things look more complicated than they are. Unless you are/were self employed then National Insurance isn't relevant for Self Assessment.