Student Snoozing and Credit Limits

Hey all,

Ok so I thought Id have a go at this stoozing game and I applied for Egg Money and been accepted.

I have already set up a high interest saving account for other savings with Bradford and Bingley. I managed to get the 6.4% internet savers account before they stopped it.

Before I go any further I just wondered what kind of credit limits are available on these cards with 0% interest? Baring in mind im a student with little income. I only want to do snoozing if im going to be able to build up a decent stooz pot and make profit of more than £1000 a year.

After just applying for Egg Money I realised being a student I may have very little credit limits with the credit cards and it wont be worth the hassle.

Are any students currently stoozing with 0% credit card and willing to tell me their credit limits?

Thanks in advance for any help. :-)

Comments

• Hi St8,

I think that a £1000 profit is going to be fairly difficult to get, Ive not stoozed myself, but in order to make £1000 at interest of 6.4%, you need just over £15000. Thats assuming that you are paying no tax on it, which I expect you probably would, taking it down to maybe 4.8% or something, leaving you with £720 profit.

Im not 100% certain Im right but I dont think its far off.

Hope that helps a bit
  • YorkshireBoy
    YorkshireBoy Posts: 31,541 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    In order to make £1,000 per year (gross @ 6%) you'll need an average stooz pot of over £16,000.

Allowing for minimum payments, and delays between cards, you're probably going to need to be stoozing £20K most of the time - and that's without factoring in the effects of BT fees, which will probably raise this to £30K or so.

Given that you have "little income", I'd say your stoozing career might be over before it's even begun...unless you're willing to lower your target a little.
  • Clariman
    Clariman Posts: 1,484 Forumite