Cost of bodywork repair

Options
melbury
melbury Posts: 13,251 Forumite
Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post I've been Money Tipped!
edited 4 December 2019 at 4:18PM in Motoring
I am so !!!!!! at myself.

Turned too soon coming out of a parking space in an underground car park and caught a metal bollard. I just thought it had caught the mirror causing it to spring inwards, but no, when I got out to see it has pushed in part of the lower door and sill which causes the door to catch when opening it - quite a dent:(

I have never done anything like this before and am just so cross with myself.

I don't want to claim on my insurance, but just wondered if anyone knows is it very expensive to get this kind of thing fixed?
Stopped smoking 27/12/2007, but could start again at any time :eek:

Comments

• AdrianC
    AdrianC Posts: 42,189 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Yes...

Door skin, possibly a complete door, bit of work to the sill. Fitting, paint.

What car, what age? Metallic or solid paint?
  • Ebe_Scrooge
    Ebe_Scrooge Posts: 7,320 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    As above, to repair it "properly" is likely to be fairly pricey.

But, depending on the car, the age, how good a repair you want - it *might* be possible to attempt a repair yourself, potentially with a door from a scrappy and a few cans of spray paint. You'll never get it as good as a professional job, and the very fact that you're asking would kind of indicate that you want it doing properly.

It may be worth asking for a quote at your local body shop (privately, not through your insurer) - which may well be the same place an insurance company would use. Or you could ask one of these "chips-away" type repairers, though it may be beyond the scope of their ability.
  • motorguy
    motorguy Posts: 22,477 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options