Advice with light rose with 6 wires

alvaronistal
alvaronistal Posts: 31 Forumite
First Anniversary First Post Car Insurance Carver!
Hi there,
I'm a complete newbie doing DIY at our home, and I've done some minor electrics stuff like changing light wirings and plugs, but I've never come across a 6-wire configuration.
The new light fixture (Ikea's) requires me to remove the existing rose completely and only has a live and neutral connection, no earth or anything else. Am I right thinking that I should use the yellow for live, the black and brown together for neutral and put the two red ones together?
Here's a photo of the rose.
Thanks!

Olz5bGX.jpg
Nationwide Mortgage (FTB & 85% LTV)

Timeline:
Application submitted 8/10
Valuation scheduled on 10/10 for 19/10
Valuation re-scheduled on 19/10 for 26/10
Hard Credit Check (Credit Karma) 21/10
Valuation 26/10
Valuation approved 26/10
Mortgage offer issued 27/10

Comments

• ohreally
    ohreally Posts: 7,525 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Almost right. Black and Blue, neutral and your tagged wire looks like the switch.

Check and confirm with a test meter first. Isolate at the consumer unit before undertaking the work and check the circuit is dead.
    Don’t be a can’t, be a can.
  • Can't see the photo unfortunately, it's impossible to give a safe and accurate answer without it.

Generally though, my preference would be to replicate the original rose configuration using a maintenance free junction box and terminals (e.g. wagos) that can be pushed back up into the ceiling, then run a single cable from the live/neutral/earth terminals in the box down to the light, rather than trying to stuff all of the wires into the light fitting itself.
  • ohreally wrote: »
    Almost right. Black and Blue, neutral and your tagged wire looks like the switch.

Check and confirm with a test meter first. Isolate at the consumer unit before undertaking the work and check the circuit is dead.