Bankruptcy and training courses

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Bankruptcy & Living With It
8 replies 969 views
Linzy234Linzy234 Forumite
5 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Bankruptcy & Living With It
Hi, as a sole trader and in bankruptcy, if you have a higher than expected income at any given month, are you allowed to use the 'surplus' income to pay for training courses related to your business?

Replies

• mwarbymwarby Forumite
    2K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    I'm no expert but I think it would basically come down to this

do you need to take the course ?
    would you be taking the course if you werent bankrupt ?
    is the course likely to increase the amount you earn ?

ie if your taking the course just to avoid paying the OR, expect some pushback, if you'd be doing it anyway then its a legit cost of being in business
  • edited 25 August 2019 at 1:50PM
    TheGardenerTheGardener Forumite
    3K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    edited 25 August 2019 at 1:50PM
    I'd agree with mwarby I think. Does the course form part of a longer term business plan? Can you point to evidence it is a good investment and will improve the business? Is it essential business expenditure - for example: learning/complying with recent changes to the laws governing your business?
    If you can make a strong case and prove a reasonable base for the investment then that's the way to go.
  • Hi, thanks for your replies, it is a new beauty business started before the bankruptcy, and the courses would be taken in order to add new treatments available to clients and grow the business, I guess if I formulate a business plan then they should be acceptable..
  • Are you in an IPA? Did the OR say how they wanted to assess your income & expenditure over the period of bankruptcy? E.g. average of x many months?