My Barclays Interest Only Mortgage Term Ends in January 2020

I'm 64 and still working and plan to do so until I get to 67.

I have had an interest only mortgage for 19 years with Barclays, which ends in January next year, and I currently owe £21k, which I've been paying off at £500 per month plus interest for the last 18 months.

I got a letter from Barclays today, saying that I need to make arrangements to pay off the balance next January, or call them to make an arrangement.

I phoned them this evening to ask for a 2 year extension to my mortgage term (I've never missed any payments and have a great credit rating), and the call centre guy said that I would need to consult a motgage advisor. I will have paid the full amount off within 2 years.

I don't need a mortgage advisor as I have planned the payments - what do you think is my best option?

Cheers

Comments

• Thrugelmir
    Thrugelmir Posts: 89,546 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Is that an internal mortgage adviser? Lenders are required to perform affordability checks. Unfortunately your word is no longer sufficient.
  • tacpot12
    tacpot12 Posts: 7,966 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Speak to an internal Mortgage Advisor at Barclays and sell them on your approach. If they don't agree, speak to a mortgage broker to see if they can find a replacement mortgage, but I doubt they will be able to, although asking to borrowing £25K+ might work - you can always put the excess on deposit and use it to make overpayments.

An unsecured personal loan might be your option of last resort. One advantage of a personal loan is that there is much less danger that you will lose your house if you can't make repayments for any reason.
    The comments I post are my personal opinion. While I try to check everything is correct before posting, I can and do make mistakes, so always try to check official information sources before relying on my posts.
  • normanna