Struggling with debt? Ask a stepchange debt adviser a question

Options

Comments

• StepChange_Aidan
    StepChange_Aidan Posts: 230 Organisation Representative
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Hello and thanks in advance for any help you are available to offer .... 
    Wow where to start?! I am almost embarrassed to share my story but I am a 42 year old lawyer (so bankruptcy and other debt consolidation options unlikely to be applicable) who has never budgeted and has been living far beyond his means for many years.
    Currently - loan to high street bank (£25,000), 2 credit cards (both 0% until September 2021), parents (£10,000) and car finance (£8,000).
    I do work and after bills I have about £750 per month left over. That includes minimum payment on the credit cards and full monthly payment on the loan (£650 per month due to expire in four years i think). I can return the car in march 2022 and not have to pay the £8,000. 
    I am just curious how i go about tackling the other debts that are due. A second job? 
    Do feel slightly embarrassed by this but hoping someone here can offer help.
    Would love love love to be debt free and have savings (for the first time ever!)
    I have two spare rooms but hate having housemates (even though that could generate circa £850 per room per month)
    I have a weekly cleaner and some other pretty silly outgoings
    As i type this the above just sounds a little loco - good to get some help ....
    I still have my sense of humour which is good 

Hi,

Thank you for your post.