Is it still worth getting solar?

Hi there, I'm new to all this forum stuff so if I do anything wrong please say. I'm stuck on the fence as to whether get solar panels installed on my house. I've seen the style's where they kind of embed them into the tiles (less intrusive) but I'd love some guidance on funding/incentives that are still running and info on whether it still makes financial sense to get solar panels. If anyone has recently had solar installed and would like to share their experience/info and the company they used that would be great.
Thanks in advance!

Replies

• HexaneHexane Forumite
    379 Posts
    100 Posts Second Anniversary Name Dropper
    ✭✭
    My understanding is that the funding/incentives still running are - none! But that some sort of government decision is due such that new installations can still hopefully at least get paid for the export of surplus power. The payments solely for generation (known as "Feed in tariff" or FiT) no longer apply to new installations at all.

This means that it can still make financial sense to get solar panels (once the export payments decision is made), but it is no longer a way to make huge amounts of money and it is very much a long term investment. For the same reasons, it is not worth funding a new (domestic) solar panel investment with any sort of interest-bearing loan.

The FAQ has lots more information https://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=3872445 but note the parts about FiT can be disregarded as mentioned above.