Employer about to go bust?

Options
Hello,

I have become aware that the company I work for may be in financial difficulties.
I know we have not been paying suppliers for 6 months now, and recently discovered that there are several debt collection agencies hounding us for unpaid bills.
I have checked with companies House, and see there are 4 separate floating charges registered within the last few months. The lenders appear to be legal loan sharks, rather than standard banks.

I don't know the full details, but this could be the tip of the iceberg. It could also just be routine managing of the cash flow for all I know.

We did get paid last week, and there has been no official statements about the situation, but its very worrying.

What happens when a company goes bust.... Is it fast, will we see the recievers, or is there any signs I should look out for?
I don't think it would be in a creditors best interest to force us into administration, but I have no knowledge of how these things work.

Anybody got experience in these things

Comments

• engineer_amy
    engineer_amy Posts: 803 Forumite
    I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    I suppose it depends on the type of business, whether there are assets that can be liquidated to get cash, pay suppliers, or pay off creditors if it does go to administration/liquidation. If it is a service type company, or offering credit terms to customers, its possible they are struggling to collect cash from their clients.
    Our company went through a phase like as you describe, very little cash coming in, workers still got their wages, but suppliers were strung along for a few months, we only paid the ones that got to the stage of threatening legal action. And it was just because our clients were slow at making payments, and we had a few retentions from invoices that tied up our cash flow temporarily.