Equitable Life with profits pension / takeover.

Options

Comments

• pafpcg
    pafpcg Posts: 885 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    archer123 wrote: »
    I am no expert, but apart from protecting the jobs of the existing EL staff, wouldn't a full & final wind-up of EL be better for most of us? We could all have our fully uplifted policy value and take it wherever we wished.
    From my reading of the transfer proposal and assuming that the proposal is approved, on 2nd January 2020, we CAN all have our fully uplifted policy value and take it wherever we wish!
    There would be no third party attempting to make something from our with-profit fund. Simple.
    We would get the same uplift as offered (or more) and all other liabilities would end.
    How certain are you that that's true? If Utmost are paying something in the expectation that a proportion of the Equitable policyholders will transfer funds to Utmost's management, then the uplift without Utmost would be less.

Have you read the proposal paperwork and understood the issues around the Irish & German funds? Are you sure "all other liabilities would end"?
    Everyone who currently works for EL knew their job had a limited 'sell-by date'.
    Or am I over simplyfying it?
    Sorry, I think you are!
    Self-liquidation would be very difficult, not least because staff would steadily leave (and the best staff with the skills in most demand would be the first to go). Who would be left to turn the lights off? The liquidation would have to be contracted-out to a third-party and that would inevitably be a large cost - this way Utmost shares the costs, or at least I assume so.

The Board of Equitable have not shared the details so all these comments are speculation.
  • archer123
    archer123 Posts: 63 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options