BLME Sharia 1Yr Fixed Rate 2.2%

Options

Comments

• masonic
    masonic Posts: 23,362 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    matty_art wrote: »
    I’ve just applied for this account with BLME - what I didn’t realise at the time is that there is no online access.

I’ve just had a letter through the post with bank details to pay my deposit into - however professional experience of dealing with paying suppliers means I don’t feel overly comfortable just paying in based on a letter with no ability to confirm accuracy of these bank details online - I’m sure it’s fine but I’m an accountant and heard scare stories so not really best practice from BLME!

I presume everyone else received a letter with the bank details too?
    It appears the account is a holding account in your name, from which the money is transferred into the fixed term product. You'll receive quarterly statements showing activity on this account. If you open more fixed term accounts you'll be asked to transfer into the same holding account, so it's just the first transfer that's a bit of a leap of faith.

They don't send these details by email, but would probably confirm them if you wanted to double check (obviously phoning them is the way to go here, not email). They do confirm receipt of your deposit by email, usually the next morning.
  • canarybaby
    Options
    In the letter I received from BLME it states I can make a payment from an account in my own name. Does this have to be my linked account or can it be any account in my name?
  • masonic
    Options
    canarybaby wrote: »
    In the letter I received from BLME it states I can make a payment from an account in my own name. Does this have to be my linked account or can it be any account in my name?
    My understanding is that the linked account is used at maturity and it doesn't need to be the same as the funding account, though I've always used the same account for both.
  • zilla6