We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Tips for Fruit and Veg Growing Newbie

2»

Comments

• Thank you so much everyone!

I have a compost bin but it is full from the people that used to live in the house and I pay £40 a year for a garden waste bin so I may empty the compost in there and start a fresh, not really sure what I need to do with a compost bin though so any tips would be great (I am a complete newbie haha)

I don't have a small fork yet but there is a shop near me that sells that sort of thing fairly cheap so will pop down there am hoping I can get one that my son would be able to use as well so he can "help" me.

We love runner beans and courgettes so will get some of them! We have a B&Q near us so I will pop in there and have a nose at what they have got.

Thank you again for all the help, I will keep you updated! Am so excited to start I think my son will love it too :D
    Read my diaryHere :)
  • fatbelly
    fatbelly Posts: 20,455 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Cashback Cashier
    Compost is compost - or should be. I'd be digging that old compost in if it looks OK
  • fatbelly - thank you :) I will have a look at it
  • Farway
    Farway Posts: 13,194 Forumite
    Homepage Hero First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    I have a compost bin but it is full from the people that used to live in the house and I pay £40 a year for a garden waste bin so I may empty the compost in there and start a fresh, not really sure what I need to do with a compost bin though so any tips would be great (I am a complete newbie haha)

We love runner beans and courgettes so will get some of them! We have a B&Q near us so I will pop in there and have a nose at what they have got.