Forum Home » House Buying, Renting & Selling

Massive down-valuation on a new build - Page 3

New Post Advanced Search

Coronavirus: The latest from MSE

The MSE team is working extremely hard to keep the info we have about your travel rights, cancellation rights, sick pay (and more) up to date.
The official MSE guides: UPDATED MSE Coronavirus Guides

NEWSFLASH

New, free ‘Academoney’ course from MSE and the Open University launches
All the key areas of personal finance are covered, so that you can master your money decisions

Massive down-valuation on a new build

57 replies 11.4K views

Replies

• I asked the HA what valuations were received on other plots in the same block.

There are upper limits on affordability for SO properties. An individual with enough cash to make up a 15% shortfall on a valuation would more than likely exceed them.
    I work in the financial services industry but I am not a financial adviser. I do not give financial advice. Anything I say here is for discussion purposes only and should not be construed as advice.
  • BoGoFBoGoF Forumite
    6.3K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    How would the HA know what the valuation was?

How would they know if a buyer did have the means to make up a shortfall.

As I understand it such propertiez are in high demand as you get to live in a property you could only dream off and people will lie to get one.
  • OP,

Just my opinion, but this whole thing sounds risky and expensive.
    I would move somewhere cheaper and buy a normal freehold house, if possible.

If that's really not possible - then good luck.
    Selling off the UK's gold reserves at USD 276 per ounce was a really good idea, which I will not citicise in any way.
  • AnotherJoeAnotherJoe Forumite
    17.2K posts
    10,000 Posts Fourth Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭