We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Growing herbs

ajmoney
ajmoney Posts: 6,218
Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
Forumite
edited 31 August 2018 at 10:43AM in Gardening
Hi,

I am looking to grow a small number of herbs and maybe chillies to use in the kitchen. I am new to gardening (I can mow lawns but that is it) so wondering if I am best sowing from seed or buying some plants. What do you guys think?
MFW 2024 No. 7 £300/£1200 MFiT-T6 No. 70 £14473.17/£22787.04

Comments

• spadoosh
    spadoosh Posts: 8,732
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Forumite
    It doesnt really matter with seeds or plants. Plants cost more and are less but theyre normally not far away from being able to be used.

Too late for chillis this year. They need more light and heat than youll be able to give them now.
  • Apodemus
    Apodemus Posts: 3,384
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    edited 1 September 2018 at 6:33AM
    If I were you i’d Just buy the plants. For most herbs, you really just need one plant of each species, so seeds are a hassle for the cost saving. As spadoosh says, too late for this year for chillies (and probably herb seeds, too).