BT and Purchases on the same card

in Credit Cards
13 replies 879 views
i have been stoozing for years, and consistently use credit cards for all purchases, but i've never done the following before:

i have a c£21k balance with MBNA which needs to be cleared before the 0% deal comes to an end on 1st September. i have already moved just under £5k to Nationwide, and i want to move the remainder rather than pay off the balance.

i have a Barclaycard with a £30k+ limit which I have been using for spending, and generating cashback in the process. In order to use this card to transfer the c£16k i was planning to clear the current Barclaycard balance in full, do the BT, and then leave the card at home - potentially spending on the MBNA card as an Amex backup from then onwards.

However, Barclaycard are assuring me that I don't need to. I can complete the BT and leave the purchase balance on the account, and as long as I clear the purchase balance each month they are assuring me that I will be charged any interest at all. I would change my Barclaycard DD from Full to Minimum, and then make a payment from my current account, by FP, each month to clear the full purchase balance by due date.

is this right? or should this really be avoided?

Replies

• edited 20 August 2018 at 6:09PM
    moleratmolerat Forumite
    26.9K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    edited 20 August 2018 at 6:09PM
    I would carefully read the t&c as that is not the way it usually works.

edit:
    If you pay your main balance (excluding any promotional balance with a 0% interest
    rate) plus any instalment plan payments due for that month in full by your payment
    due date, the following will apply to that month:
    We won't charge interest on new purchases, non-Sterling cash transactions
    (transactions made in a foreign currency), balance transfers or money transfers on