We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Spark Energy massive bill

Options
Hi there

I've been renting a flat for the past 4 years and have had the energy supplied by Spark Energy and paid for through a direct debit. A couple of months ago I started getting daily texts from Spark telling me that I owed them £1500. This came as a bit of a shock! I spoke to a customer service rep who said that it was probably a miscalculation as they hadn't had a meter reading for quite some time. After submitting the meter reading the bill came back as £1680!

After looking into my current account I found that my direct debit had been cancelled in January this year. Spark say that this was probably done by mistake by my bank as I myself definitely did not cancel the direct debit. I then remembered that in February they had sent me texts telling me that I had to pay my outstanding balance of £36. At the time I had thought that this was strange because being signed up to a direct debit, I assumed that the necessary amount would be debited from my account autmatically. I made a one off payment of £36 and assumed that the matter was settled.