Savings in euros or dollars to protect against £ currency crash?

Options
I am a newbie on here so please don't crucify me for my ignorance.

I am expecting not much good to come of Brexit given the shambles we are currently facing. I expect no deal and a slow-to-no recovery. If I am wrong, no one will be more pleased than me. I'm planning to try to locate my grandad's Irish birth certificate (lost a while back) and clear out of here to Ireland at some point, but my health isn't great and I'm too young and unpensioned to retire comfortably right now. So for now I am here but want in some way to hedge against the financial horrors I tend to see coming at the hands of our utter shower of a government and whatever may be coming next

So I would really appreciate some advice in how best to invest against the coming (further) collapse of the pound. I will have some savings to invest by November ish and was wondering which of the following options is best:
1. current account held in euros (i would transfer a few over from £ but would ultimately be hoping to generate euro income somehow- don't ask how yet)
2. the same but in dollars
3. invest in £ but in a fund which is EU/US/Asia based (please don't take the !!!! because I don't know where best in the world to invest right now... I just don't and am no economist)

Any further advice on how to invest in Ireland would be helpful. I've been advised to look for property around the Trump Golf course at Doonbeg and airbnb it to American tourists!! :D

Comments

• missile
    missile Posts: 11,691 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I thought about doing it some time ago, but did not.
    "A nation's greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members." ~ Mahatma Gandhi
    Ride hard or stay home :iloveyou:
  • ruthcain1
    ruthcain1 Posts: 27 Forumite
    Options