Credit rating poor due to fraud

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Credit File & Ratings
5 replies 746 views
JesslouisewoodJesslouisewood Forumite
1 Post
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Credit File & Ratings
So a £3000 loan was taken out fraudulently in my name back in October. I’ve contacted barclaycafd partner finance 3 times about this and they haven’t sent me the correct forms to fill in. They then get a debt collector Onto me so I have given the the debt collector a crime reference number. I’ve now seen that my credit rating is poor as a result of the fraud. I call Barclays today and they said they will send forms today but I have to wait for a decision. They won’t improve my credit score until then and apparently they weren’t told about the crime ref number I gave to the debt collector by the Barclays collections team. I told them I need a good credit rating to get a new job cos I work in finance. But no budge. I’ve just been told an application for a job in banking has been refused due to my poor credit rating. Is there anything I can do?! This is awful.

Replies

• SystemSystem Forumite
    177.9K Posts
    10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    You could write to the CRAs and ask them to put a note on the record stating that it is a fraudulent application however there's a risk of a CIFAS marker which would royally stuff you. Unfortunately it is just going to take time.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Forumite
    0 Posts
    MoneySaving Newbie
    I would speak to the company as there is no such thing as a credit score or credit rating - it's made up by the CRA's
  • macmanmacman Forumite
    48.4K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    It's 9 months since the fraud-when did you discover it? Surely a written complaint to Barclays should have been made before it got to the stage of DCA's calling on you?
    No free lunch, and no free laptop ;)