Am I covered on my Holiday Insurance?

Options
Hello all!

I'm after a bit of advice or a few ideas on my situation...
I booked a non-refundable room for 2 nights in August at a Premier Inn as somewhere to stay whilst I was attending 2 workshops for professional development (I'm a Pilates instructor). Unfortunately, the lady running these workshops has now rescheduled them to February 2019. As the room is non-refunable I called my insurer, whom I have annual multi-trip insurance with, hoping to put a claim in. The person I spoke to said I wasn't covered for this and that I should pursue a claim with the person running the workshops. But I can't find anything in my policy documentation to suggest that I'm not covered for this sort of event cancellation...

I did try to amend the booking at Premier Inn who were open to the idea, but only if the rescheduling was earlier. I'm not sure what was meant by this phrase so I'm going to try them again tomorrow, as well as my insurer. Unfortunately it wasn't booked via credit card so I can't try to claim on section 75 of the consumer credit agreement and I don't think chargeback will apply to my debit card due to the circumstances...

Has anyone else experienced a similar situation? Is it likely that I have a claim with my insurer or does anyone know of any other avenue I can try? I stand to lose over £170 and it's the first and last time I'll ever book a non-refundable room!:(

Comments

• unforeseen
    unforeseen Posts: 7,283 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Am I missing something? You were expecting to claim for a BUSINESS stay on HOLIDAY insurance?

Either have a few days break away and use the room or accept that you lost the money. There is nobody to claim from.

For the future go downmarket. Get a Travelodge business account. It caters for things like this because it allows you to cancel up to midday on the day.
  • greenface
    greenface Posts: 4,871 Forumite