Car insurance issues - please help!!

New Post Advanced Search

Car insurance issues - please help!!

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Insurance & Life Assurance
3 replies 758 views
aaronduffy99aaronduffy99 Forumite
2 posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Insurance & Life Assurance
Hi guys I’ve been driving for 6 months, I’m 19 and live in a terraced house. I paid £1700 for insurance for a year with 6000 miles (low I know) but due to insurance coming in for £2500 for 10,000 I couldn’t afford this as I was low on funds after purchasing the car for £1500. So long story short I’ve ran out of miles and have 890 left, it costs me £500 to purchase 1000 miles but if I purchase these then my insurance goes up to £3000 next year so I’m in a bit of a predicament. Will anyone give me advice on what to do? I need my car for work and college. Just wondering if anyone knows any non black box insurance and I’m with MoreThanSmart wheels.

Please help

Replies

• Caz3121Caz3121 Forumite
    14.2K posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    it costs me £500 to purchase 1000 miles but if I purchase these then my insurance goes up to £3000 next year so I’m in a bit of a predicament.
    have you had an accident? I am confused why your insurance would go up as I assume you would shop around for new insurance once you have a years no claims so how do you know it would increase?
    how much would public transport be compared to the cost of the correct insurance?
  • No accident, he said If bought miles it will go up if I came to renew it as I went over the miles I said I will do and public transport use is a difficult one as I use my car to carry tools around for work which won!!!8217;t fit on public transport.

Also if I was to buy miles it would go from £500 for the first 1000 then if I wanted more next month or so on then it will be £1000 for 1000 miles and then £1500 for 1000 miles etc
  • forgotmynameforgotmyname Forumite
    31.4K posts