What am I doing wrong?

Options
13»

Comments

• Jimly.
    Jimly. Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited 8 May 2018 at 9:29AM
    Options
    I've been entering competitions for almost 9 years now and only won two small prizes not even worth mentioning.I remember back when I first came to this place in 2009 seeing people win multiple big prizes every single year. And I see it's still the same today. I think it's impossible for me to actually win a competition. I entered one comp over 600 times (free no limit entry) and still didn't win a single thing. Yet I know today I'll see someone who won a holiday and money and other large prizes telling us they've had yet another email or phone call. Meanwhile other people whining because they've had a dry spell for all of 3 weeks. Then you check their signature and see they won £10,000 last year and a cruise the year before. To be honest, what's really annoying isn't that I don't win but that other people win over and over. That's the thing about entering comps. You can put in the same effort as someone else yet reap none of the rewards unlike anything else in life. At least if you put the time into another hobby you'd have something to show for it. Edward Van Halen can be on stage earning millions while you're not but you'd still be a great guitar player. What's the residual of entering comps? Nothing. Just spam emails and nuisance phone calls.
  • lemonade11
    lemonade11 Posts: 10 Forumite
    Options
    I think social media giveaways are the way to go these days to be honest. I used to win loads before social media took over, but now they are far more accessible. Twitter giveaways have a fairly good success rate and are much less spammy than facebook x
  • Boom_Boom
    Boom_Boom Posts: 135 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    lemonade11 wrote: »