Is CCTV the answer to my home security problem?

Options
I am new to this, so please bear with me.

I live in an end-terraced house (built about 18 years ago) on a corner. The front is on a main road, but the side is on a lesser used road. The side and rear are not directly overlooked by any neighbours. In all the 8+ years I have been here I have had trouble on and off with kids throwing things at the house. The first window that was broken was on Halloween and it was broken by an apple. Over the years any window glass that I have replaced has been toughened and this (until recently) has seemed to be enough of a deterrent. I have probably averaged one broken window a year - I know that is too many,

However, in the past month the vandalism has increased dramatically. It is common knowledge who the vandals are, but no one has actually seen them do anything. September 24 - golf ball through glass in back door. October 17 - stones broke toughened glass in kitchen window (15 sq ft of glass) 26 October - stones broke cladding on rear of house and put more holes in yet to be repaired window.

Various people have suggested CCTV. My questions are:-
Would it work?
Would it lower the value of my house when I come to sell it?
What kind of camera/s do I need? The 'hide' is about 15 metres from the house and with days getting shorter (I live in Scotland) will the camera work at that distance?
Can I DIY it? I am not earning at the moment
Any help/words of wisdom from experience would be greatly appreciated. I really do not want to turn my home in to a fortress, but cannot afford these expensive repairs.

Comments

• feliz
    Options