Nervous new diarist with not one but two mortgages to clear!

Options
I hope I am allowed to post as I have buy-to-let mortgages. (And as far as being a landlord goes, I am one of the good guys! Try very hard to look after my tenants!) It's quite daunting posting a new diary on here. I am wondering if anyone will want to read it! And whether I can stay the course and keep writing. Am in awe of all those diarists who've written for several years and had hundreds of replies. I am a sprinter rather than a marathon runner in terms of starting projects with lots of enthusiasm then running out of steam.

I bought two houses a few years ago to let out. I had realised my pension provision was pretty awful and since I was a TV freelancer and my employment was unstable, it seemed a good move. I bought two houses that I liked thinking that if I ever wanted to live in one, I could.

I was living with a friend then moved onto a boat for a few years so I don't have a residential mortgage.

I met a lovely man (thanks OKCupid!) We got married last year and in February he bought a lovely old house for us to live in. No mortgage on that and he's retired. He has enough pension to support us both so I have given up work and just have my buy to let income as my money. I have been so lucky. I suffer from debilitating migraines so hoping not working will mean less stress and a big health improvement.

I want to clear both mortgages so that I have more income and less to worry about.

One was £33,575 at a fixed rate of 2.99% till the end of March 22. Until March 22 comes, I can repay just over £3600 a year without penalty.

The other was about £55000 fixed at 3.79% till the end of July this year. Until the fixed rate ends, I can pay £5500 off a year without penalty.

Encouraged by what I've read on here, I used most of my savings last week to pay off the max penalty free amount so my balances are now just under £30k and just over £50k.