Anyone ever won a Gleam comp?

Options
I am somewhat new to comping but I have noticed that, anecdotally, Gleam comps seem to produce far fewer winners on MSE compared to most other entry methods. I've entered quite a few Gleams that have seemed a bit sketchy and seem designed to entice likes and follows for people on Twitch or Youtube. For example there was a Gleam comp to win an Xbox One X where if you clicked a button to subscribe to someone on Twitch, you would get 5000 extra entries. After entry I was being bombarded with spam messages telling me the streamer has started streaming on Twitch. Also had similar experience with Gleams where you have to follow someone on Pinterest, Insta or Twitter to enter. Wondered if anyone here has actually had success with Gleam.

Comments

• Freelikeabird
    Options
    I've won Gleam competitions for a DVD, a £10 voucher, and some Steam games, all before I joined MSE (probably the excitement of these first wins was what ignited my desire to join here if I'm honest). I like them because they are simple to enter, but I guess that means they are more likely to have a lot of entries, especially for the larger prizes. I do prefer it when they show the total number of entries, so you have an idea of the odds.

Twitch automatically emails you when someone you are following starts streaming, just in case you want to watch, but it does get annoying when you are following lots of people who stream all the time. If you go into one of the Twitch emails, at the bottom there is a bit that says 'To stop receiving emails when someone you follow goes live, click here' - if you click that you won't get any of the streamer spam any more!
  • GHolmesAdmin
    Options
    Yes, quite a few. But I avoid the international ones or anything that mentions dollars.
  • jonesMUFCforever
    jonesMUFCforever Posts: 28,898 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options