90 seconds

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Parking Tickets, Fines & Parking
76 replies 5.2K views
ellaroellaro Forumite
26 Posts
Hi newbie here

Ive been given one of those myparkingcharge.co.uk tickets so have read up on what to do, so Ive waited for the ntk which has arrived today and will send them the IPC template in the newbies section.
I am disabled and was ticketed for not displaying my badge, my dashcam shows me leaving the car and one and a half minutes later getting the ticket which doesnt seem time to read their signs. The IPC code says that I should be given a reasonable time and although it doesnt specify what this is it seems 10 minutes is normal.
The IPC template talks about obtaining my details without reasonable cause for not following the IPC code of conduct so my question is how do I go about suing them for this?

Replies

• The_Slithy_ToveThe_Slithy_Tove Forumite
    3.9K Posts
    Ninth Anniversary 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    You can't sue them for giving you an invoice. What are your actual losses?

An avenue which may be open to you is to throw the Equalities Act at them. You should certainly include that in your appeal, even though it'll inevitably fail.
  • ellaroellaro Forumite
    26 Posts
    Thank you for your reply.

Should I add something in the template response about the Equalities act?
  • Coupon-madCoupon-mad Forumite
    96.3K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    my dashcam shows me leaving the car and one and a half minutes later getting the ticket which doesnt seem time to read their signs. The IPC code says that I should be given a reasonable time and although it doesnt specify what this is it seems 10 minutes is normal.

Gotcha!

Does your dashcam footage also show you placing the badge?

Or does it show that you could be seen just by looking, to have mobility needs?