Becoming a private tutor- all questions here

in Boost Your Income
659 replies 456.4K views

Replies

• Thank you both for your reply.

Not given thought in tutoring A-level as yet. However, once I get started, this may well change.

You mention that you incorporated - what was your key driver for changing from sole trader to Ltd?

Also, would it be worth getting a leaflet designed through a graphic designer or should I really do this myself? Can we use images from the net..? I'm not sure about the legality of this.

As I have extensive knowledge in the subject of interest, I was also thinking of creating my own material. How do I get it copyright?

Thanks in advance.
  • TheFox30TheFox30 Forumite
    133 Posts
    Agreed re A-Levels. If you're qualified to a very high level in maths as you say, your skills will likely be better suited to the higher levels anyway.

Also, would it be worth getting a leaflet designed through a graphic designer or should I really do this myself?

I've never bothered with leaflets but if I did, I'd just do them myself. I use a website for advertising as well as having vehicle graphics on the back windscreen of my car. This works well for me.

As I have extensive knowledge in the subject of interest, I was also thinking of creating my own material. How do I get it copyright?

Not sure about getting things copyrighted, although to be honest, it wouldn't bother me if someone else did use resources I'd made. In my opinion, there's so many great resources out there that there's no need to spend time creating your own (unless it's something you really want to do)

I've tutored maths for 6 years but the best thing I ever did was to qualify as a teacher 2 years ago. I tutor full time now but the qualification was incredibly useful in a few ways.

Firstly, the quality of my teaching is far higher (having experienced teachers observe your lessons and give feedback makes a big difference and the feedback is often very applicable to tutoring)