MSE News: Some credit card users STILL being charged despite ban

Options

Comments

• d123
    d123 Posts: 8,622 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Meant to add, anyone finding a dodgy retailer still trying to charge these fees should report them to their local Trading Standards, I noticed on Tuesday that a local retailer was, and contacted my local TS who have answered pretty quickly to say a TS officer will be sent to the shop by Monday to educate them or take action if required.
    ====
  • takman
    takman Posts: 3,876 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    gripped wrote: »
    Very ill thought out this ban.

I'm an independent taxi driver.

Before the ban:
    "Do you take card ?"
    "Yes but it's 50p extra"
    Either "No problem" or it turns out they did have cash after all.

After the ban:
    "Do you take card ?"
    "No but we can go via a cashpoint"
    "OK". This will generally cost the customer more than 50p by the time we have diverted and waited.

Or maybe they will simply use an Uber or use another taxi instead that will take their card payments.
    My card machine is now purely for the scammers you wait until you've driven them home to the middle of nowhere and then say "You do take card don't you ?"

Yes I used to gain a little on a short fare paid by card and lose a little on a long fare. But a flat 50p charge just kept things simple and no-one was forced to pay it. No extra on cash.

On another note it's very rare to get a tip with a card payment so I'm better off without them :)

But if you only take cash payments then what about the time it takes you to pay all that cash into the bank and withdraw the right amount of change to make sure you have enough each time you go out. Alot of business bank accounts also charge you for depositing cash. So handling cash isn't exactly without cost either.
  • glider3560
    glider3560 Posts: 4,115 Forumite