Probate & Wills Trust`s

Options
Dear Forum Members,

I am a novice Executor for both my late parents and hope the collective audience on this forum can give me some guidance on my situation. I am being very careful to perform my duties correctly but finding the legal costs mounting up when the estate has insufficient cash and only the property to cover debts.

I have already contributed significant finance to my parents for care costs and repaid the mortgage off on their property between the first and second deaths. I am not likely to be able to reclaim that significant sum without selling their home, which was not their intention and why probate was delayed on the first death as the second parent could not repay me this money. I am now dealing with a double probate, with the same problems. However they had mirror wills and it is intended that the property is held in a non-beneficiary trust for the benefit of their grandchildren. I am having difficulty understanding who is responsible for the ongoing cost of their property, utilities ect, as the trust is not yet in place and from what point in time ?. is that the date of the second death or the end of the two months and one day after publishing the death ? which will be May 2018.

I should be grateful they both made wills and that no tax is due on the estate but the few hundred left in the executors bank account will not cover around £10,000.00 debt of legal cost and utilities. As I will be one of the non-beneficiary trustees do I have to pay these debts from my own funds ?

I could sell my own home and move into theirs but I am not sure that I would have a secure position if the family change their view on not selling the house as both the wills dictate.

My negotiating skills are running thin with the utility companies who are threatening enforcement action for non payment of the utilities and I am not sure what steps to take next ?.

I would be most grateful for any advise on my situation please.

Comments