Separated in May and now struggling!!!!

Hi, I have split from my partner in May this year and ever since i have been struggling to have a comfortable lifestyle i am literally living on £30 per month. The issue is relating to my car that i currently have. The finance was taken out under the name of my father in law, yet i have been paying for the last 3 years and i still have to pay up to September 2019 and the fee i have to pay is £147 per month. however this is not the only issue. the other issue is a number of years ago me and my then partner suffered from money issues and at the time the then in laws provided a credit card to which at the moment i am paying £100 per month towards this. so i am not only paying the car and the credit card i am paying my ex child maintenance of £150 per month so in total they are getting a third of my monthly income each month and i am living below the living wage. Is there anything that i can do to stop paying for what i have to, to give myself a sort of normal lifestyle. does anyone what i can do. this is pulling me down. At the moment i am not able to pay my own bills such as my energy bills.

Comments

• Who's name is the credit card in? What was purchased with the card? Is your ex-partner making any contribution towards this.
    Thrifty Till 50 Then Spend Till the End
    You can please some of the people some of the time, all of the people some of the time, some of the people all of the time but you can never please all of the people all of the time
  • The Credit Card is in the Ex's mothers name. my ex has said that she is contributing to it. but i can not be certain as she is not really talking to me. i dont know what to do with everything. my ex is trying to stop my daughter seeing my parents.
  • onlyroz
    onlyroz Posts: 17,661 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Can you do a voluntary termination on the car? Should be allowed if you’ve paid off 50% of the car finance.
  • stumac1980 wrote: »