Ebay INR How to refund

Options
Hi I've been selling on ebay as a business seller for a couple of years with few problems. However over the last few days I've had 2 buyers claiming their items were not received in time for Christmas and want a refund. Left it until the last minute with unreal expectations of the post!
Anyway the first one was very rude and threatened to leave a neg unless I refunded. I asked her to go to the resolution panel and I would refund her there. When I tried the refund failed. Ebay said they had technical problems! I tried several times. I also could not issue a refund through Paypal as the money was on hold and the refund button was not visible. After a long time on on-line chat with ebay I had to refund by 'send money' then upload the screenshots to get them to close in my favour which they did.
I've just had another buyer wanting a refund as she ordered on 17th and it has not arrived. This time I cancelled the sale and was able to refund.
My question - What is the best way to refund buyers? I'm reluctant to ask them to go through the resolution centre as it caused a huge headache and wasted a lot of my time. I'm expecting more complaints as people leave it too late to order. Should I do it through Paypal or Ebay? I don't think a paypal refund will give me my ebay fees back.
Thanks and Merry Christmas and happy selling in the New Year. Next year I'm closing at the beginning of December!
:)

Comments

• Dox
    Dox Posts: 3,116 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    edited 25 December 2017 at 1:56AM
    Options
    You seem to be refunding without asking for the return of the item. Why not just follow the well-trodden route of asking them to open an INR claim (or SNAD, depending on what they are claiming has gone wrong), as repeatedly advised by experts on this forum, like Soolin (have a look at some of her responses to understand why).
  • forgotmyname
    forgotmyname Posts: 32,552 Forumite