Mbna PPI rejection

Options

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,482 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    How can people get ancient refunds ànd yet mine is out of date? Or am I being daft?

If the address is correct then it is assumed, as it is in law, that you received it.
    I am an Independent Financial Adviser (IFA). The comments I make are just my opinion and are for discussion purposes only. They are not financial advice and you should not treat them as such. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser local to you.
  • Nasqueron
    Nasqueron Posts: 8,897 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hi folks

Newbie here, joined for advice regarding MBNA rejection based on time barring.

I applied recently to be told I had been sent letters in 2013 also, however I have never seen these letters. I have not lived at the address on a regular basis for many years, staying with colleagues, boyfriends or relatives due to instability with parents at my home address, but have never been so on paper e.g. tenant/ utility bills etc.

My name is the same as my mother's and she regularly opens my mail, this has been an on-going issue from I started to receive mail - particularly when no Mrs or Miss was in place.

I am only recently applying as the lady in the bank told me to, when previously an advisor told me I had no chance of getting it back.

How can people get ancient refunds ànd yet mine is out of date? Or am I being daft?

Thanks !

If the bank sends you a letter inviting you to complain about PPI, so long as it is to an address where you can get mail then they can invoke the 3 year rule to time bar the complaint. Your only argument would be if you didn't have access to the mail, which you clearly did - if you had issues with post being opened you should have had it redirected e.g. to a PO box