Options

Comments

• hiddenshadow
    hiddenshadow Posts: 2,525 Forumite
    Options
    teameffort wrote: »
    Hi hiddenshadow

Thank you for doing this.

I'm new to this so any number would be good.

I am pledging to make £6500 of OP's in 2018.

Mortgage balance as of 1 January 2018 should be £101,100.00

Many thanks
    TeamEffort

Welcome! You're #143. I like your 2018 starting number, though I'd be tempted to pay another £100.01 or £1,000.01. ;) 5-figures will be a nice milestone for you in 2018 though.
  • hiddenshadow
    Options
    beanielou wrote: »
    I am going to go for £600.
    Funds are really really tight but it all helps.

Welcome! You're #144.
  • hiddenshadow
    Options
    dizzyblnd wrote: »
    Can I sign up please? I've never tried this challenge before but truly believe any overpayments from your mortgage is a step in the right direction. We're moving house so unsure what my mortgage will be but I will aim for £2400 of over payments. That's a huge target but gives me motivation to really stretch.

Can people that have completed this challenge before give some ideas for how they have managed such incredible figures?

Welcome! You're #145. :)

(My $0.02 on achieving targets - I opt to "pay myself first"...first by contributing to my pension because employer also contributes, but next by making my ideal OP to my mortgage on the 1st of the month. It does run the risk of something coming up during the month that could have used that OP money, but I assume that most things could be covered with a credit card, meaning I could skip next month's OP to pay for it. I also have an EF. By making the OP early in the month, I know that money is committed so I'm not tempted to have that takeaway just because I'm tired/lazy, or buy something I don't need, because I've already sent that money to the mortgage.)
  • hiddenshadow
    Options
    MM10 wrote: »
    Hi Hidden,