Yet another house downvalued by countrywide surveyors

Options

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,784 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    A newbuild two-bed flat in Crawley is being valued at £280k.

I don't know how that fits with second-hand property, but I'd expect a house to fetch more.

TBH we've been doing a lot of Halifax product transfer business off the back of their indexed valuations as they are coming in higher than the tag we believe a surveyor would put on the properties following an inspection. These are two plus year-old newbuild houses and flats, outside your area.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • class2ldn
    class2ldn Posts: 353 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Like I say there's not many reductions on properties as they in such high demand.
    Just seems to be a pattern emerging with countrywide and if you look they've caused some real heartache amongst people.
    Im aware it could be any surveyor but we had colleys do our first one for Halifax and they were very good in comparison
  • Malc00
    Malc00 Posts: 29 Forumite
    Options
    Personally I haven't had any Countrywide down vals for a while. Funnily enough I checked my files and the last 5 I've had were E serv or Connells. The only 2017 up-valuations were CW. I've had plenty of countrywide valuations go through no problems too. I honestly don't believe that they go out intentionally down valuing properties. Nationwide wouldn't be "in" on this either.
    As others have said, EA overvalue properties so please don't get hung up over that.