Carers allowance and dependents

Options
Hi,
I am pretty new to all this carers stuff and if I am honest I am lost in a minefield.
Currently I recieve carers allowance for looking after my son who is 6, he gets middle rate care and lower mobility.
If my husband were to give up his job or change to a part-time job so as to relieve some of the stress off me as not only do I have my special needs son who needs total watching at all times during the day, I also have other children and there is just not enough of me to go rond with the intense caring I am required to undertake. Would I be able to claim the dependents part of carers? If so how does this work in relation to IS or does the dependenst part only work if DH works part-time earning under £175 per week?
Debt free and plan on staying that way!!!!

Comments

• suelees1
    suelees1 Posts: 1,617 Forumite
    Options
    This is a real stab in the dark as I don't have my books at home but I have a feeling if he earns more than the amount of the dependants addition (£29.05) then you won't get it.

Hopefully someone else with experience of CA will put me right
    I'll get you, my pretty, and your little dog too!
  • lil_me
    lil_me Posts: 13,186 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Carers allownce is a flat rate of £48.65 a week for one carer. Dependants addition http://www.benefitsnow.co.uk/carers'/introduction.asp

If your partner reduced how much he works your tax credits may go up a little I think next year.