Why don't people invest?

Options
123457»

Comments

• bigadaj
    bigadaj Posts: 11,531 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    economics and finance should be taught in school, right from 5 year old.

Basic maths would be better at that age.

I wouldn't want to depress them at that young an age either.
  • capital0ne
    Options
    vacheron wrote: »
    I think the simple answer is that the topic simply does not interest them.

I'm an engineer and I work with a team of engineers. Some sail, some travel, some like cycling. I happen to have an interest in finance and investing so I have taken the time to learn.
    You could turn the question on its head and ask:
    "I work with highly skilled and trained financial advisers, but none of them will consider running their own home servers or writing home automation applications using embedded Arduino hardware and I often wonder why."
    Good example but as I'm an engineer I ca understand why you would be writing home automation applications, it's useful and fun.
  • TrustyOven
    TrustyOven Posts: 746 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    edited 17 November 2017 at 4:27PM
    Options
    vacheron wrote: »
    I think the simple answer is that the topic simply does not interest them.

You could turn the question on its head and ask:

"I work with highly skilled and trained financial advisers, but none of them will consider running their own home servers or writing home automation applications using embedded Arduino hardware and I often wonder why."

Fundamentally, if you have no interest in something then it is very difficult to voluntarily dedicate precious free time towards that thing.

I do agree.

I look at/modify C++ code all day long, and the last thing I want to do when I get home is to look at setting up some servers or play with my Arduino Uno, no matter how interesting my ideas are for personal projects. ;)