Money Moral Dilemma: Should I keep my free pair of shoes?

Options

Comments

• AcerBen
    AcerBen Posts: 47 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I'm on the fence over whether you should, but since you're asking the question you obviously feel bad about it. So tell them, but hope they don't ask you to send them back.
  • Badger57
    Options
    I'm Not a lawyer but I believe that this would be theft. As you know and accept the mistake has been made. If you were unaware it would be a defence. Every theft just like shop lifting costs the rest of us more.
  • crmism
    crmism Posts: 300 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Do you really need to ask this question?

The supplier has clearly made a genuine mistake - something that can happen with almost every business, even if it has stock and other controls in place. If you have any sense of integrity you should contact the firm, explain what has happened and let them decide what is to be done; they will probably arrange collection of the shoes by courier, at their expense, not yours.

If you're still in doubt, look at it from the supplier's point of view. If it finds out that you have kept one pair and said nothing, it might blacken your name in its books or affect the credit rating you have.
  • Sussex.girl54
    Options
    Really??? Just send them back I'm sure the postage is free. I had a similar issue & was rewarded by thanks & a voucher!! An honest person always does the right thing...
  • malkypaul
    Options
    Hi All
    I would contact the company purely to salve my concionce but the company will probably ignore you / tell you to keep them because the cost of returning them to their stores is more than the cost of the item, and if you like the shoes enjoy them as a second pair when the first pair wears out.
    enjoy the shoes
    Malkypaul
  • Sussex.girl54
    Options
    If it came out of your pocket, would you have the same view?
  • pugsydog