Over 50's, how did you accumulate your wealth?

Options

Comments

• jerrysimon
    jerrysimon Posts: 343 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post Hung up my suit!
    edited 1 October 2017 at 9:40AM
    Options
    fred246 wrote: »
    Avoid all Apple products.

:)

As an IT manager I used PCs and and Android phones for ages. However after rebuilding my PC every year and chasing virus and my phones only lasting a couple of years, I now own an iMac/iPhone and all my family have iPhones. We facetime and share photos (new grandchild) with each other, it just works.

In my experience whilst these products are expensive (if you settle for a lower/older iPhone they are cheaper) they last much longer and dont need as much maintenance. My iMac was purchased through Uni discount as was my Mac Mini, now 8 years old.
  • OldBeanz
    OldBeanz Posts: 1,402 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    jerrysimon wrote: »
    :)

As an IT manager I used PCs and and Android phones for ages. However after rebuilding my PC every year and chasing virus and my phones only lasting a couple of years, I now own an iMac/iPhone and all my family have iPhones. We facetime and share photos (new grandchild) with each other, it just works.

In my experience whilst these products are expensive (if you settle for a lower/older iPhone they are cheaper) they last much longer and dont need as much maintenance. My iMac was purchased through Uni discount as was my Mac Mini, now 8 years old.

I tried to move to Android and thought how useful there is an app which mimics your Apple phone keyboard. You then have to read the small print and it warns you that the app may not be secure - so it was offering to take total control of the phone. One diary, one set of notes - with Jerry on this, after a life of running computer systems, Apple does the work and I have binned my 10TB RAID 10 home network. Ultimate bottom line was the wife did not like Android :).