Sole Trader - Ditching My Business Account?

Options
Hi all

I'm a sole trader and have separate business (Co-op) and personal (Santander) accounts. I'm wondering if I really need to have a business account. I know there is no legal obligation for a sole trader to have a separate business account but it does make for easier bookkeeping.

Currently I have on average just 10 transactions per month going through the business account - mostly payments in from PayPal and drawings to my personal account with the odd card payment & D/D. I can't ever recall a time I've had to pay cash into the account. I'm left wondering why I'm paying the service charges (around £6/month) and having to keep the balance above £1000 for the privilege.

I know many banks T&C's expressly forbid personal account use for businesses - but with such low transaction numbers and my being a sole trader would it really be a problem?

Or does anyone know of a fee-free business or personal account which can be used by a sole trader with few transactions such as myself? My business name is my name so any cheques (very very rare) would be in my name.

Comments

• Neil_Jones
    Neil_Jones Posts: 8,913 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    The T&Cs for your personal Santander account (and probably most other banks) will say its not to be used for business purposes regardless.

Most business banking attracts monthly fees regardless of whether you feed it two transactions a month or two thousand. You can always switch it around providers, most of them provide 12/18/25 months free banking plus of course the monthly fee you can put through as an expense when it comes to self assessment (but you probably already knew that :))

That being said there is probably no real need to have a business bank account at all if you can keep track of everything offline yourself...
  • mt99
    mt99 Posts: 472 Forumite
    Options