HMRC wont accept offer

Options

Comments

• ross1976
    Options
    sheramber wrote: »
    Have you sent HMRC an Income and Expenditure statement to back up your offer?
    Income and expenditure done 2 weeks ago and they said this would be evaluated nothing back from them apart from the letters saying about debt recovery.
  • ross1976
    Options
    w00519772 wrote: »
    Why are you angry with HMRC? It is not their fault. As others have said; it is your responsibility to make sure you are receiving the correct amount.

You made them an offer and they have declined the offer. I guess you have two options:

1) Increase your offer
    2) Deal with the consequences of not increasing your offer.

Sorry if this sounds harsh. I am no expert. If I was you then I would pay as much of it as I could each month e.g. £150 this month; £175 next month etc. As others have said it would show willing.
    Not Harsh but the truth. Whilst all the comments are valid i find it amazing that throughout my working Career i`ve got letters every year about Tax codes, Company Car tax, underpayment and over payments but the one that goes to debt recovery i have never seen a single letter prior to July 2017 .

I owe the money granted and accepted my real bugbear is the lack of communication from HMRC. I was looking for advice on the fines as i think they are unjust.
  • xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,468 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    did you get a response?

I did - anodyne, very much on the lines of the excuses offered in the bbc link in my post above and no explanation at all of why total household income was not taken into account.
  • parkrunner
    parkrunner Posts: 2,610 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    ross1976 wrote: »
    No i offered £150 per month until my circumstance change which should be in 2 or 3 months then the payment can double