Overpayment question

Options
Probably a silly question, but I hear there's no such thing :rotfl:

When mortgage providers say they allow 10% overpayment annually, does that mean I need to take the
A) mortgage remaining /years left on mortgage/12x0.1? to find out how much they'll allow to overpay monthly?
Or is it B) mortgage remaining /12 x0.1?
Obviously option A means we could potentially overpay a lot less than option B so I want to make sure we understand the maximum we are allowed to overpay.

Thanks

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,767 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    It's usually 10% of the outstanding balance, or 10% of the original loan amount.

It varies from lender to lender.

Monthly amounts can vary as long as you don't exceed the above in perhaps a calendar or 'mortgage' year.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • getmore4less
    getmore4less Posts: 46,882 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post I've helped Parliament
    Options
    Different lenders have differing description of what the mean by 10%.

Typically if will be around 10% of full balance at some point in the year.

Some get a bit mean and include the small overpayment if you decrease the balance but keep the payment the same.
  • Silence101
    Silence101 Posts: 396 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options
    Ok, thanks, that makes sense.