Boss taking out issues on me

northernsaver
northernsaver Posts: 43 Forumite
Hi all,

Today I got news from my boss I’m getting 78% of the quarterly bonus. -12% due to the whole group not making target- fair enough. -10% because my boss doesn’t like the work of one of my staff members.

I started in this company a year and half ago, as a Web Developer. I started at the same time and in the same team as Designer 1. We joined Designer 2 so we made a team of 3.

Designer 2 has been at the company for 7 years, and during this time has been the ONLY designer. After 10 months, I was asked to ‘step up’ and manage the 2 Designers during a busy time, though I am not a Designer myself, and have only had slight management experience.

I was asked to step up because our boss is a Director and he basically had no time for us.

I was officially made ‘design team leader’ in January this year. Also in January, Designer 1 (who started at the same time as me) left to move to another Country. I am now managing Designer2 (of 7 years) and an Intern (who leaves in a few months). Designer 2 is an older gentleman. His designs aren’t amazing, yes- I’ll admit it. He rushes things through to get them done- doesn’t put enough time into things, and isn’t thorough or consistent. But he’s getting better and willing to learn. He’s made improvements since I have managed him, and people have even said so.

However my Director boss has often over the past 3-4 months mentioned his work- asking what he’s got on, what extra things is he doing, and now it’s gotten to the stage where today he’s said ‘he’s on too much money and if I could bring back Designer 1 to swop, I would’. I’ve had my bonus email, to have 10% knocked off. My Director boss hasn’t actually mentioned this in the email (which has also annoyed me - not having it explained), only mentioning issues with Designer 2.