Help Me Please

Options
Hi Everyone,

Without going in to too much detail I am 27 year old and I have racked up £18,000 in credit card / loan debt chasing gambling losses. Other than this problem I am a good person but unfortunately I have now hit rock bottom. I am getting to the point where I am in debt crisis. My life is going to fall apart and I am scared and considering extreme actions. I have been searching for that clean slate but it has never come, I have been battling this issue for seven years now and now my debts have reached the highest they have ever been I am losing the will to keep up the battle. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• StopIt
    StopIt Posts: 1,470 Forumite
    Options
    First: Call the Samaritans, I mean it.

If only to offload, they're there to help, never to judge and frankly, money troubles are nothing to your overall health so forget about that.

If you're in less than £20k of debt, have no assets and fit other criteria when it comes to earnings, you can apply for a DRO. This basically wipes the debt you have and may be an idea.

Either way, speak to a debt charity like StepChange, and also seek help if you haven't already to combat any gambling issues you have.

Lastly. Don't even put the "Other than this" bit when describing yourself. I'm going to assume you're not a murderer and say that you're a good person. Get all the help you need. There's always a way out, I promise.

In debt and looking for help? Look here for the MSE Debt Help Guide.
    Also, If you need any free and impartial debt advice, the National Debtline, Stepchange, and the CAB can help.
  • GeorgianaCavendish
    Options
    Hi JK, well done for posting, you've taken one of the hardest steps already.